How to Change Language on Google Chrome

This post shows students and new users steps to a secondary language when using Google Chrome web browser. When you typically read and write in a particular language, you can add your preferred language to Chrome and make it your default or switch between multiple languages when needed.

To add a language in Chrome is pretty straightforward and easy. However, not everyone is comfortable doing it. We’ll show you how to do that below. When a secondary language is added, Chrome won’t prompt you to translate when you visit a web page written in that language. It will display in its native version.

This should work on all Chrome browser installed on any operating systems, including Windows, MacOS and Linux systems.

Chrome, Edge and other browsers automatically prompts to translate web pages written in different language from your default chosen in your browser. In some cases, this will not work. In that case, you can manually choose the secondary language preference to translate.

To get started with addition secondary language in Chrome, follow the steps below.

How to add secondary language on Google Chrome Browser

To change or add a secondary language on Chrome web browser, click on the click on the three dots (ellipse) at the right side of the Chrome browser, click on Settings.

On Chrome Settings page, expand Advanced option and select Languages on the left menu.

On the right pane area, click the down pointing caret to show a list of available languages. From there, click on Add languages button to add additional languages.

When the pop up window opens, search for the language you wish to add or scroll down the list and select the language(s) you want to add.

Once the language is added, it should appear on the list of language added to Chrome.

Once you’re done, relaunch Chrome for the new changes to apply. After that, the next time you visit a web page in one of the languages selected above, Chrome will display in its native version without prompting to translate.

That should do it!


This post showed you how to add languages to Chrome web browser. If you find any error or have something to add, please use the comment form below.